Day 14

Hey guys!

Day 14 out of 30!

Today’s Topic: Remember the best thing you remember about being a kid

Oh boy I have so many memories from being a kid!

It’s kind of funny that this topic is about being a kid because I had a dream last night about my childhood home haha.

Honestly the best thing about being a kid was my home. I absolutely loved the house I grew up in. I lived on a street that all the houses were built the same. They all had the same floor-plans, all the kitchens were in the same area, the same number of bedrooms, etc. I always loved going over to neighbors houses and seeing how they decorated their homes compared to mine. I loved how open and friendly everyone was with each other. I remember one summer the power went out and all the neighbors came out to see if it was just their house or if the whole block (it was the whole block) was out. All the adults decided to just grill and drink and make a fun night out of it while all the kids just played outside. I remember eating a bunch of ice cream because my one neighbor had a lot and it was melting in her freezer.

There was another time (during another summer actually) late at night, I had my window open so I heard it loud and clear, there was this huge car crash on our street. The kind that made everyone jump out of bed and come outside. Apparently a high school student was drunk driving and speeding down our street and crashed into a parked car and side swiped another parked car in the process. My mom wouldn’t let me leave our driveway because the accident happened in our next door neighbors yard so there was glass everywhere. Luckily no one was hurt, I think the driver had some cut and bruises, but that was it. I guess after he hit the car(s) he got out of his and tried to run away but the police caught him.

Honestly I was just excited that I stayed up to see the sunrise that day. My mom wanted me to go back to bed but I was too excited watching everything that was going on.

I don’t know why these memories jump out to me but they do. I loved the house I grew up in and I really wished we could have stayed there but life didn’t work out that way. Whenever I’m nearby, I drive down my old street just to see what it looks like. I would love one day to walk through it again and see what’s been changed. It was actually up for sale for a while and I joked with my mom that we should buy it and move back in, but she wasn’t up for it. No matter where I live I will always have the best memories with this home.

Leave a comment